The Kings of Leon: Walls

Rolling Stone review by Jon Blistein


Kings of Leon will release their seventh LP, Walls October 14th via RCA Records.

The band has been teasing the record on social media the past few days with a short clip of strange images soundtracked by a thumping kick, an eerie drone and singer Caleb Followill saying in a voiceover, “The walls come down.”

Kings of Leon decamped to Los Angeles — where they recorded their first two albums — to make Walls with producer Markus Dravs (Arcade Fire, Coldplay, Florence and the Machine). In a new interview with Billboard, the band admitted their relationship with longtime producer Angelo Petraglia had grown too safe, and bassist Jared Followill noted the various ways Dravs kept them working and experimenting.

“He just said things that nobody had ever said to us. Like, ‘I don’t like that song, that’s not good, we can move on from that.'” Followill added that Dravs would make Kings of Leon write new verses on the fly, or suddenly change the style of the song: “He’d be like, ‘OK, now play it like the Sex Pistols.’ And then you’ve turned a slow song into a fast one.”

Walls follows Kings of Leon’s 2013 record, Mechanical Bull.

Walls Track List

1. “Waste A Moment”
2. “Reverend”
3. “Around The World”
4. “Find Me”
5. “Over”
6. “Muchacho”
7. “Conversation Piece”
8. “Eyes On You”
9. “Wild”
10. “WALLS”