Aretha Franklin headlines 2018 Memphis Music Hall of Fame inductees

MEMPHIS, TN (WMC) – The Memphis Music Hall of Fame announced seven new members Wednesday afternoon.

  • O’Landa Draper

Draper is a graduate of Overton High School. The Grammy Award nominee died in 1998 at the age of 34 after releasing songs like “My Soul Doth Magnify the Lord.”

  • Rock and Roll Trio

The Rock and Roll Trio, composed of Johnny and Dorsey Burnette and Paul Burlison, formed in Memphis in the 1950s. They are credited with inspiring such bands as The Beatles, Aerosmith, and Led Zeppelin.

  • Eddie Floyd

Floyd was signed to Stax Records as a soul and R&B performer. His hit single “Knock On Wood” reached number one on the R&B charts.

  • 8 Ball and MJG

Orange Mound natives 8 Ball and MJG have been releasing music since their debut album Comin’ In Hot in 1991. They’ve achieved success in hip hop, working with artists like T.I. and Three 6 Mafia.

  • George Klein

Klein was close friends with Elvis Presley, even accepting his induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

  • The Box Tops

The Box Tops formed in Memphis in the 1960s as a rock and soul group. Their single “The Letter” reached number one on the billboard charts.